Pine State Trailer Tags

Go to content

Main menu

FAQ's


1) Does my trailer need to be titled in Maine?

If your trailer has a net vehicle weight (empty weight) of 3000 lbs or less, no title is required.  If the empty weight of trailer is 3001 or greater, then a Maine title is required.  However, if your trailer is already titled in your name in another state, a new title is not required.  We will need a copy of the front or back of the title.

2) Will I be charged sales tax?

  • If you have previously registered the trailer in your name, it is sales tax exempt.

  • If you have already paid sales tax in another state, it is sales tax exempt.  We will need a copy of your purchase invoice showing the sales tax being paid.

  • If your trailer is used for business outside the State of Maine, it is sales tax exempt.

  • If the trailer is for personal use, and sales tax was not paid at the time of purchase, then it is subject to sales tax at 5.5% of the purchase price.


3) Can I register a homemade trailer in Maine?

Yes you can.  In order to register a homemade trailer, it must have a VIN assigned to it.  Once a VIN has been assigned to it, that VIN must be inspected by a police officer using Maine form MVT-10.

4) What do I need to register a trailer in Maine?

  • If the empty weight of the trailer is 3000 lbs or less, we will need the following:

A) Signed & Notarized Limited Power of Attorney.
B) Copy of the Bill of Sale or Purchase Invoice.
C) Copy of the Certificate of Origin signed over to you.
D) Copy of a title in your name.
E) Copy of purchase reciept showing sales tax paid (if you have already paid sales tax), unless it is being registered to a business.

  • If the empty wight of the trailer is 3001 lbs or greater AND is 1995 or newer, we will need the following:

A) Signed & Notarized Limited Power of Attorney.
B) Copy of the Bill of Sale or Purchase Invoice.
C) Original Certificate of Origin or Title that has been signed over to you, if recently purchased (This needs to be mailed to us).
D) If you already have a title in your name, then we will need a copy of that.
E) Copy of purchase reciept showing sales tax paid (if you have already paid sales tax), unless it is being registered to a business.

5) Does my trailer need to be inspected in order to register it in Maine?

No, Maine does not require a trailer to be inspected in order be registered here.  However, your trailer may need to be inspected if being used for interstate commerce (federal).

6) Why do you need a Power of Attorney?

In order for us to sign the registration and any title applications, the power of attorney gives us permission to sign those on your behalf.

7) How long can I register my trailer(s) for?

1-2 years (Annual registration) or between 5-12 years (Long-Term Program).  The 3 and 4 year registrations are reserved for clients who already have trailers registered in the long-term program.

8) What methods of payments do you accept?

Checks, Money Orders, Cashiers Checks and All Major Credit Cards.  We do no not charge a convenience fee for credit cards.

9) Is there a minimum number of trailers required to register in Maine?

No.  We will register your trailer whether you have 1 trailer or 1,000 or more trailers.

10) Is it illegal to register your trailer in Maine?

No.  Maine Statute 29-A allows non-residents to register there trailer here in Maine using a statuatory agent.  We are an authorized statuatory agent that can provide this service to you.  However, it is always recommended that you check with your DMV to verify it is legal for you to register outside of your state.  The only state that we know of that has a law making it illegal to register a non-interstate trailer outside of that state is Delaware.

11) Are plates transferrable?

Plates are transferrable from trailer to trailer that you own, but not from owner to owner.  Transferring from trailer to trailer is easy.  We will just need some paperwork in order to process the transfer similiar to the registration process.  In most cases, we can transfer the plate and you can use it the same day we get the papwerwork.

12) How long can I renew my registration for?

It is up to you. 1-2 years (Annual registration) or between 5-12 years (Long-Term Program).  The 3 and 4 year registrations are reserved for clients who already have trailers registered in the long-term program.

13) When do the registrations expire?

Registrations always expire the last day of February of the expiration year.  The only exception is for trailers with an empty weight of 2000 lbs or less, those will expire 1 (or 2 years respectively) from the month of registration if registering for 1 or 2 years.

Back to content | Back to main menu